Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast
Results 151 to 175 of 179

  Click here to go to the first FarSight post in this thread.   Thread: Head to Head Public Beta

  1. #151
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Dresden/Saxony/Germany
    Posts
    87
    My Devices
    PC, Steam
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dave950lam View Post
    Update from last post:

    Was able to get into a couple timed matches last night and the timer ran out, but no crash. Was taken back to the 'lobby' to look for more matches.

    I'm thinking that when this is a finished product we'll get an actual number of people who are in the queue, but it seems to be harder to match up an opponent after you end a game.

    Update: just had a timed match with dep, and the game crashed when the timer hit 0.
    Ok, online mode is not ok. Partly working, but pretty much a site. That is my conclusion. We depend on the goodwill of the developers. TPA ia great and deserves some "fine sanding".
    "I hate these outlanes".



  2. #152
    Senior Member dave950lam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    701
    My Devices
    xbox360, PC
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Was nice playing and trying to play with you, Axl.

  3. #153
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Dresden/Saxony/Germany
    Posts
    87
    My Devices
    PC, Steam
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dave950lam View Post
    Was nice playing and trying to play with you, Axl.
    Ah ok, thank you!
    "I hate these outlanes".



  4. #154
    Moderator Xanija's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    973
    My Devices
    Galaxy Tab S2 9.7, PC
    Blog Entries
    2
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is there any work currently done on this @FlippyFloppy @Stephen Snow?

    This game mode is still not working very well, to be honest. I haven't seen any improvements for a while now.

  5.   This is the last FarSight post in this thread.   #155
    FarSight Employee
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Big Bear
    Posts
    2,290
    My Devices
    all
    Mentioned
    87 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Xanija View Post
    Is there any work currently done on this @FlippyFloppy @Stephen Snow?

    This game mode is still not working very well, to be honest. I haven't seen any improvements for a while now.
    We haven't made any progress as we are tasked with other projects, we'll update when were back on it.

  6. #156
    Senior Member dave950lam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    701
    My Devices
    xbox360, PC
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just had some matches with a couple of the devs and were able to show them the crashing bug at the end of timed matches. They said they'll get to working on them next week.

  7. #157
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Dresden/Saxony/Germany
    Posts
    87
    My Devices
    PC, Steam
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dave950lam View Post
    Just had some matches with a couple of the devs and were able to show them the crashing bug at the end of timed matches. They said they'll get to working on them next week.
    Nice to read, Dave.

    Greetings from East Germany (born in the west).
    "I hate these outlanes".



  8. #158
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Dresden/Saxony/Germany
    Posts
    87
    My Devices
    PC, Steam
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried the public head to head beta last night. Unfortunately no progression noticeable. It says: Match found...but nothing happened. Probably a network problem. I don`t know. No problem for me to wait until this mode is working better. Maybe you (the developers) need more time. Or an odd lot of people are wanting to play head to head. No blame only a statement. I`ll retry the head to head in 1-2 months. New tables and tournaments are more important for me. So keep on building your outstanding pinball-tables!
    "I hate these outlanes".



  9. #159
    Senior Member dave950lam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    701
    My Devices
    xbox360, PC
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ver 1.60.7 had something in it that makes selecting h2h to crash the game. But the update that just came out seems to restore h2h for DX11. Thanks a lot, FS.

  10. #160
    Junior Member thebarnman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    15
    My Devices
    Steam
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to play Head to Head...

    Hi,

    I read today there is some beta testing of Head to Head going on...in fact it was taking place earlier today, however I'm not using beta...I'm using version 1.60.8 DX 11 on Steam via Windows 7.

    1. Is beta the only way to play "Head To Head" currently?

    Right now when I click on "On line Play;" sometimes I see 1 in queue," but when I click on "Find a match;" I'm not connected to a game.

    2. Is Head to Head ready for prime time? If not; when will it be available for everyone?

    3. If I wanted to play a certain game with someone else; do I click on the game first then hit "Find A Match?" Or does clicking on "Find A Match" simply link you with just anyone with any random game?

    Thanks


    PS; I'm very excited about this as I've been waiting for Head to Head for what seems like at least a couple years.

  11. #161
    Senior Member dave950lam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    701
    My Devices
    xbox360, PC
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, you can play h2h in the current build. However, there are bugs. Sometimes matches are made.

    Not ready for prime time, yet.

    Yes, if you want to play a certain table - select it then 'find a match'. Just clicking find a match will either select the table of who is paired with you (the table they selected), or the first table listed alphabetically, which is TOTAN.

    Also, very excited for head-2-head. This is one of the reasons for the month off.

  12. #162
    Junior Member thebarnman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    15
    My Devices
    Steam
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tried again today; saw one in queue, and selected "Find a Match." Nothing, so I clicked on "High Score" to change it to "5 Minute..." Nothing. So I clicked on it again and changed it to "10 Minute," nothing. Clicked on it again to change it back to "High Score..." within seconds; my name was showing with someone else's name, and there was a notice the game was starting. And then...nothing. If it was going to work at that point; I have no idea how long it takes for the game to actually start. So I tried again with one in queue. No matter what I did; I still could not get a game to start. I clicked on Gorgar to find a game, and nothing. I knew clicking on Gorgar would make it less likely a game would start...unless maybe someone was joining me. Anyway; while writing this; a game did start. The big hint was the fact I could hear the music of Funhouse playing. Funhouse by the way was a game I played on my own between searching for games...so I wonder if that had something to do with it. Anyway I played in what I thought was a 10 minute game. I saw the countdown clock going, and at 7 minutes left; I finished my 3rd ball, and the game ended with the score of both showing in a display. I really don't know if it was set for 10 minutes or high play, but at least it worked in some way for the first time.

    Now as I'm still writing this, there is 0 in queue. I guess if I pick a game like Gorgar and "High Score," and wait...it might show 1 in queue for someone else, and someone might join me for a game of Gorgar. I'm thinking out loud as to how all this probably works. I'll leave it like this for a while and see what happens.

  13. #163
    Moderator shutyertrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    La Habra, CA
    Posts
    4,928
    My Devices
    PS3, PC, iPad 3
    Mentioned
    88 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Just to clear up confusion, there is the h2h beta that's been going on for months, and now there is a new h2h beta being tested where there are only 8 tables to select from and you wager tokens or something to play.

    I've yet to play anyone in this new mode, I plan on logging in at 2pm Pacific if anyone wants a go.
    Last edited by shutyertrap; 04-18-2017 at 11:36 AM.
    I'm just sayin'

    official BlahCade Podcast website blahcadepinball.com

    buy BlahCade t-shirt at represent.com/blahcade-shirt

    play with me on PSN, iOS, and Steam: shutyertrap

    follow me on Twitter: @shutyertraps or @BlahCade

  14. #164
    Junior Member thebarnman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    15
    My Devices
    Steam
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by shutyertrap View Post
    Just to clear up confusion, there is the h2h beta that's been going on for months, and now there is a new h2h beta being tested where there are only 8 tables to select from and you wager tokens or something to play.

    I've yet to play anyone in this new mode, I plan on logging in at 2pm Pacific if anyone wants a go.
    In AZ I'm in the same time zone as you currently because at this particular Mountain time zone; we don't go forward or back hours like most of the country. So 2pm for you will be 2pm for me. Unfortunately; I don't have the h2h beta your talking about, but I would like to hear how it goes for you.

    As an update; I do want you guys to know...I'm now fully read up on this entire thread, and have a good understanding how far h2h has come. It seems to me the biggest hurtle is getting the matches to actually start working. And of course; it would be nice to know how many number of people are actually in the lobby. It can't always be just one or none. And when it does show one; for some reason the system usually does not connect the players together...even though it says there's one.

    One question that was never answered; is if someone ends up being selected for a pinball game the other person does not own...will it still work? With Xbox Live; car racing tracks I don't own do work when someone else is hosting with that particular track they do own.

    As far as TPA; I could not get any matches to work last night after one successful attempt earlier that same night. At this point all I can say is I'm really glad the team is taking off a month so they can catch up on some things...TPA being one of them. It seems like a couple major issues have been a roadblock since the beginning. Hopefully that will finally get fixed within this month. Then of course; they can start working on refinements...such as extra features, and how it deals with notifications etc.


    PS: Even though it says I posted at 2:29pm; it's really 1:29pm. There is no Arizona time zone to select from (like other forums have.) Instead I had to pick Mountain time (which only makes it correct 1/2 of the time per year.) If this forum can add a Arizona time zone to select from; then all would be good!
    Last edited by thebarnman; 04-18-2017 at 12:35 PM. Reason: Watned to add one extra item

  15. #165
    Junior Member thebarnman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    15
    My Devices
    Steam
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey Dave, we connected, but the game is not starting. I'm Goldendollarguy on TPA by the way. At least it was interesting having a match found between the two of us.

    For the first time I saw there was 2 in queue. In trying to get something started; I exited out and came back in, and the program crashed. When I came back; it said 0 in queue. Oh well...hopefully they'll get this worked on.


    By the way, the thing I've been meaning to mention is if I select Gorgar and try to find a on-line match; I've found there is no way to deselect Gorgar without having to first exit out of Pinball Arcade and selecting Online Play again. Doing this is usually how the game crashes...(though not every time.) It would be nice if there's a way to switch certain pinball tables without having to exit out of the lobby, and back in again.

    In one thought: I wonder when it shows 1 in Queue; if it's not in fact indicating that it's me (another words counting me as being the one in Queue.) If there's a glitch with that part of it; that might be a big part of the issue of no games connecting.

    Also asked of us is our connection speed earlier in this thread. According to speedtest.net the Ping 1ms; Download 166.49Mbps, and Upload 12.04Mbps. So in this case connection is probably not an issue.

    An interesting point I'm discovering is if there is one or two in queue; I've found if I totally exit out of Pinball Arcade, and then restart it; I then find there is 0 in Queue. That makes me wonder if when it shows one or two in queue...if it's just old information not yet updated? The Queue information may not be accurate.
    Last edited by thebarnman; 04-18-2017 at 04:34 PM.

  16. #166
    Moderator shutyertrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    La Habra, CA
    Posts
    4,928
    My Devices
    PS3, PC, iPad 3
    Mentioned
    88 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Yes, if you see 1 in the queue, that's you. Also, the queue does not seem to update that often to accurately show how many are in it.
    I'm just sayin'

    official BlahCade Podcast website blahcadepinball.com

    buy BlahCade t-shirt at represent.com/blahcade-shirt

    play with me on PSN, iOS, and Steam: shutyertrap

    follow me on Twitter: @shutyertraps or @BlahCade

  17. #167
    Junior Member thebarnman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    15
    My Devices
    Steam
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by shutyertrap View Post
    Yes, if you see 1 in the queue, that's you. Also, the queue does not seem to update that often to accurately show how many are in it.
    Well then; that's a big problem. If I would have known the one person in the queue is me; then I wouldn't have been sitting there spending time trying to join myself! What seems to be even a bigger issue is the fact the queue is not accurately showing how many people are in the lobby. How can the computer software match two players for pinball when the queue can't even tell if someone is there or not.

    I'm not an expert at this, however...I think the queue issue is the biggest problem they have.


    By the way; good luck on the 19th. Let us know how it goes!

    PS: Sometimes as you know; it shows 0 in queue. I guess that's incorrect too.

    PPS: Earlier when trying to play h2h; a match was set up pretty quickly, and Funhouse started. I then I decided to get my Xbox controller for better control and hooked it up to the computer. Immediately I somehow exited out of the game (out of the lobby area,) and had to click on "Online Play" just in case I'd be able to get back at the start of the game. Fearing I kicked myself out of the game completely; I was surprised when I clicked on "Online Play;" only to find myself at the very start of Gorgar, and started playing that without a hitch. After the competition finished; I wondered if we were originally on different tables. I'll never know, but what I do know...that was really odd.
    Last edited by thebarnman; 04-18-2017 at 11:56 PM.

  18. #168
    Junior Member thebarnman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    15
    My Devices
    Steam
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When I went to online play today; I saw 1 in queue, and from what I've learned here, that one is me. When I exit out and come back to online play; many times I'll still see 1 in queue. Just now when I exited out and came back; it showed 2 in queue. When I exited out again and came back; it showed 3 in queue. Then I exited out again; came back and now it's showing 2 in queue. I did it again, and it showed 1 in queue. I did it another time, and now it shows 0 in queue. Zero? How can there be zero when I'm in there? I keep exiting and returning and still zero. All this time however, no match game started.

    Does anyone know when there's going to be a update for this?

  19. #169
    Junior Member thebarnman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    15
    My Devices
    Steam
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why is it every time I get a match for a head to head game; it always ends up being FunHouse?

  20. #170
    Senior Member dave950lam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    701
    My Devices
    xbox360, PC
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When you're in the lobby looking for a match, you have to pick a table. Just hitting 'find match' will default to Funhouse.

  21. #171
    Junior Member thebarnman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    15
    My Devices
    Steam
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dave950lam View Post
    When you're in the lobby looking for a match, you have to pick a table. Just hitting 'find match' will default to Funhouse.
    Thanks; I'll try that next time.

    By the way from the Farsight Studios customer support. When I emailed them (back on 05-03-17) with the question of when the items will be fixed with Head to Head...the response I received was "We do not have an ETA for the Head to head patch but the next update should resolve the issues. " I'm guessing the next update they might be referring to is when they come back from the break and introduce the new season. At least that's my guess.

  22. #172
    Senior Member dave950lam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    701
    My Devices
    xbox360, PC
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, the update should come with the release of Paragon (if everything is going ok, it will come the 26th).

  23. #173
    Junior Member thebarnman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    15
    My Devices
    Steam
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cool. Well; I tried your suggestion and clicked on a game (Gorgar) then clicked on "Find A Match." A match was found immediately however the top area said Random Play; then the next screen said "found match: table: FunHouse, mode High Score. To accept, click the check box. So that did not work for me. Hopefully when the 26th comes around; picking certain games, and the number of people in queue will be vastly improved.

    I've got my fingers crossed!

    PS; I remember at least one time a month ago or so...I did end up playing a different game rather than FunHouse on Head to Head. Maybe what you suggested only works sometimes (as I do remember picking a game one time before clicking on Head to Head.) We'll just have to wait to see what happens with the update.

    Thanks again for the information.

  24. #174
    Senior Member dave950lam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    701
    My Devices
    xbox360, PC
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, when you get an invite to an h2h match from someone, you defer table choice to them. And since FH was chosen, they either selected FH or just hit 'find match'.

  25. #175
    Junior Member thebarnman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    15
    My Devices
    Steam
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Excited to get new update, but with huge problem. Every time I select "Find A Match" Pinball Arcade crashes in the DX11 version. Doing the same in DX9 causes it to simply close (essentially the same thing, but in a much cleaner way!) In the DX11 version, I see there's 1735574400 in queue. In the DX9 version, there's something like 640 in queue. I tried again (the DX9 version) and now there's a negative number in queue.

    So far I have not been able to click on "Find A Match..." without Pinball Arcade crashing. Oh well; hopefully it will be fixed soon.

    Windows 7, Professional 64 bit, Steam.

    Last edited by thebarnman; 05-27-2017 at 12:02 AM.

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •