Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 157

  Click here to go to the first FarSight post in this thread.   Thread: Head to Head Public Beta

  1.   Click here to go to the next FarSight post in this thread.   #1
    FarSight Employee
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1,697
    My Devices
    All
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Head to Head Public Beta

    If you set your game to use the public_beta, you will have access to version 1.52.4 which includes Big Hurt release and Head to Head beta.

    To access the beta, right click Pinball Arcade in the steam client and go to properties, then betas tab, and choose teh one that says Public Beta.
    Note: To switch back to the current release build change it to Opt out of all betas if you no longer want to use the beta build.

    Make sure you back up your save files first. Make a copy of this folder "C:\Users\username\My Games\Pinball Arcade"

    Looking forward to feedback on Head to Head

  2. #2
    Senior Member Nate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    northwest
    Posts
    162
    My Devices
    Windows PC, ps4, iOS., android
    Blog Entries
    2
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    mike how does this work? once in awhile it will find someone one and says table NONE match starting and then never does anything, we need instructions bud or else this isn't gonna get any feedback

  3. #3
    Senior Member Kaibun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    374
    My Devices
    PC
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's not really working so far, is it?

    After finding someone in the queue, it says 'Game Starting', but there's no way to progress after that. Nothing's happening.
    Last edited by Kaibun; 07-31-2016 at 07:41 AM.
    HOLD FLIPPERS DURING CASINO RUN

  4. #4
    Junior Member A-Jey's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Rötgesbüttel
    Posts
    7
    My Devices
    PC
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No chance.

    We tried out several things... with no success.
    Always states that Game is starting... but then nothing happens.
    Highscores PCSteam Profile (feel free to add me) • For Amusment Only (Steam Group for all pinball games on Steam)

    ♫ Listen to my selfcomposed music ♫
    SoundCloud (new demos / work in progress) • MyOwnMusic (german site with all my finished songs) • YouTube (some older stuff)
    Facebook Fanpage (stay informed) • Twitter (stay informed) • Instagram (some pics and short videos)

  5. #5
    Senior Member Crazy Newt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    US
    Posts
    265
    My Devices
    PS4, iPad (3rd Gen), iPhone 7 Plus, PC
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by A-Jey View Post
    No chance.

    We tried out several things... with no success.
    Always states that Game is starting... but then nothing happens.
    Same here. My firewall settings are basically wide open both inbound and outbound for Pinball Arcade, but I'm not able to identify any protocol that the game may be using when attempting to monitor traffic.

    I was going to try matching the table and game type in my settings with another player, but I doubt that would help. Using DX11, if that makes any difference.

  6.   Click here to go to the next FarSight post in this thread.   #6
    FarSight Employee
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Big Bear
    Posts
    2,132
    My Devices
    all
    Mentioned
    75 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Were looking into the match making not functioning correctly.

  7.   Click here to go to the next FarSight post in this thread.   #7
    FarSight Employee
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Big Bear
    Posts
    2,132
    My Devices
    all
    Mentioned
    75 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We've identified a bug with matchmaking that is taking longer than expected to resolve. Were expecting to get an update for the Steam Beta on Monday. Sorry for the inconvenience and thanks for your participation in the Beta!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    41
    My Devices
    PC, PS4, Virtuapin Cabinet
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In the meanwhile, can someone explain how it is supposed to work? It isn't very intuitive.

  9. #9
    Moderator shutyertrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    La Habra, CA
    Posts
    4,845
    My Devices
    PS3, PC, iPad 3
    Mentioned
    82 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by KBJAXMAN View Post
    In the meanwhile, can someone explain how it is supposed to work? It isn't very intuitive.
    Yeah, still not sure if we are to select the table first, or only set the type of game we are looking to play and then selecting the table after. Is it player one who sets this? What if I select 5 minute game, but other people in queue are all set to high score? Will I not be matched to them? If I play a match with someone and we finish, can we immediately replay each other or is it going to send us back out to random match ups?
    I'm just sayin'

    official BlahCade Podcast website blahcadepinball.com

    buy BlahCade t-shirt at represent.com/blahcade-shirt

    play with me on PSN, iOS, and Steam: shutyertrap

    follow me on Twitter: @shutyertraps or @BlahCade

  10.   Click here to go to the next FarSight post in this thread.   #10
    FarSight Employee
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Big Bear
    Posts
    2,132
    My Devices
    all
    Mentioned
    75 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Online Play was updated today. The match making issue was resolved.

    Quote Originally Posted by shutyertrap View Post
    Yeah, still not sure if we are to select the table first, or only set the type of game we are looking to play and then selecting the table after. Is it player one who sets this? What if I select 5 minute game, but other people in queue are all set to high score? Will I not be matched to them? If I play a match with someone and we finish, can we immediately replay each other or is it going to send us back out to random match ups?
    Currently the match making is random as far as which users settings are selected. If you select a table, change the mode then select find match, it's a 50/50 chance that your choice is selected.

  11. #11
    Member timmyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    62
    My Devices
    Nexus 7 (2013), Galaxy Note 3, PS3, PC
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Still trying!

    I got a match, but then Pinball arcade crashed after the 10 second countdown.

  12. #12
    Member timmyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    62
    My Devices
    Nexus 7 (2013), Galaxy Note 3, PS3, PC
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    WOOT, I got a game to work!

    I couldn't tell what mode was picked for us but "shutyertrap" and I played Genie.

    I supposedly 'won' after ball 5 drained for me, but my opponent's score kept going up after the game said I had a higher score.

    Would be cool to know what ball your opponent is on, and maybe the bonus they are racking up (probably a stretch for the bonus)

    Anyway, it seemed to work. It's still very slow to sync the players up, but we have something here...

    Keep up the good work! I'll keep testing.

  13. #13
    Moderator shutyertrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    La Habra, CA
    Posts
    4,845
    My Devices
    PS3, PC, iPad 3
    Mentioned
    82 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Yep, I kept playing because I didn't know if you'd drained out it not. Finally I just let balls drain because it seemed you had.

    Would be good for some kind of indicator to let players know if the other person is still active or not. Or since its s high score battle, once the lower score has lost all balls, just end the match entirely so we can get back to matchmaking. End with a stat showing what ball the winner was on, how many extra balls they still had.

  14. #14
    Member timmyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    62
    My Devices
    Nexus 7 (2013), Galaxy Note 3, PS3, PC
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by shutyertrap View Post
    Yep, I kept playing because I didn't know if you'd drained out it not. Finally I just let balls drain because it seemed you had.

    Would be good for some kind of indicator to let players know if the other person is still active or not. Or since its s high score battle, once the lower score has lost all balls, just end the match entirely so we can get back to matchmaking. End with a stat showing what ball the winner was on, how many extra balls they still had.
    Yes, let us know our opponents ball in play and end the match on Game Over with some kind of dialog box that you click OK. For purists, maybe there is a preference mode (checkbox) where you can keep playing, but it's likely your opponent will exit out and not deal with the carnage!

  15. #15
    Moderator shutyertrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    La Habra, CA
    Posts
    4,845
    My Devices
    PS3, PC, iPad 3
    Mentioned
    82 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    So after my match with timmyD, it found a match with Voof but never gave us the countdown or anything so I exited after 2 minutes. Found another match with timmyD but did the same thing. I exited the H2H and rejoined. I should note, the "X in Queue" button showed nothing, no text, no number, just blank. Anyway, it found a match for me with Pinballwiz45b but didn't tell the table or game mode. Here's where it went all wrong...

    I had selected Medieval Madness and a 5 minute game. When our game started, indeed it was Medieval Madness but there was no countdown timer or anything, so no clue what mode we were playing and assumed it was High Score. Played a few minutes, was just approaching 50 million for my score, when the match stopped and I got a message saying I won because I had reached the target score of 0! Well that was odd. It then kicked me to the H2H UI but half the tables were highlighted and my controller was vibrating. Exited out to the main menu.

    Pinballwiz45b messaged me that the game kicked him too but he didn't get the message I did. I went back into the H2H UI where it immediately tried to match me to Pinballwiz45b again, except I knew he wasn't in the game anymore as my Steam indicator showed him starting a different vid game! Backed out to the main menu, controller was still vibrating, so something wonky was for sure going on. Tried to exit the game entirely, but it just kept popping up the match window instead. Finally had to hard exit the game by closing the window.

    Trying again, let you know how it goes!
    I'm just sayin'

    official BlahCade Podcast website blahcadepinball.com

    buy BlahCade t-shirt at represent.com/blahcade-shirt

    play with me on PSN, iOS, and Steam: shutyertrap

    follow me on Twitter: @shutyertraps or @BlahCade

  16. #16
    Senior Member Voof's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Sunland, CA
    Posts
    129
    My Devices
    PS4
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    While streaming we had issues with myself finding an opponent, that opponent finding another opponent, that guys opponent finding me, and no games starting. Later on I was on against one person in matchmaking and the games worked fine.
    KRAZY KITTYMAN VOOF!
    You-Tube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvO...7dIrPRI7S5udXg
    Twitch: http://www.twitch.tv/voovoof

    Bonus = Play More Pinball!!! + Hug More Kitties!!!

  17.   Click here to go to the next FarSight post in this thread.   #17
    FarSight Employee
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    99
    My Devices
    Galaxy tab, pc, ps3, xbox360, ipad 1 2 and 3
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey everyone, I'm the programmer responsible for Head to Head, and I'm reading everything you guys are saying, I'm working on a patch right now and already have some of these issues addressed, but the patch won't go out until I have a bit more done and we've tested it internally a bit. Thanks for all the feedback though, you guys are a great help! I like the idea about ending the game after one player runs out of balls and the other player is winning, and I believe that shouldn't be too hard to implement fairly soon.

    As for what's going on right now with the "in queue" counter, I've fixed that internally as well, and that will be in the next patch, along with a hopeful fix for the matching issue. I've already determined what's causing the issue, and I've written in a fix that should take care of it in the patch, but for now, since this is a real and verified bug, if you want to play a second match, you'll have to close the app and open it again, sorry for the inconvenience, but this is why we're in beta, so that you guys can help us stay on course and get all of this done before release.

    I'm happy to answer any other questions you may have, and thanks again for participating in the beta!

    -Steve Snow

  18. #18
    Moderator shutyertrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    La Habra, CA
    Posts
    4,845
    My Devices
    PS3, PC, iPad 3
    Mentioned
    82 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Thanks Stephen!

    The two biggest issues with matchmaking are always 1) how long I need to wait for a match to start, and 2) what happens when the other person finishes/quits early. I do hope you plan on making there be a way to play multiple matches against a player rather than always making us search anew once a game has ended. I say that not only to cut down on the frustration of matching each time, but because often people wanna have another crack at someone, especially if the outcome was close.
    I'm just sayin'

    official BlahCade Podcast website blahcadepinball.com

    buy BlahCade t-shirt at represent.com/blahcade-shirt

    play with me on PSN, iOS, and Steam: shutyertrap

    follow me on Twitter: @shutyertraps or @BlahCade

  19. #19
    Senior Member dave950lam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    628
    My Devices
    xbox360, PC
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just had a game with Shutyertrap, but when the game 'ended', MM's music kept playing and when I got to the menu the TPA music kicked in, so now I had 2 songs going at the same time, and couldn't get into a match again.

  20. #20
    Moderator shutyertrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    La Habra, CA
    Posts
    4,845
    My Devices
    PS3, PC, iPad 3
    Mentioned
    82 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    So yeah. Me and dave950lam had our Steam messager going on so that we could know exactly what was going on. We had a few times where it'd say it found the match, but then it never would start the game. I had it even happen where it found me a match with dave, told me the table, but then no countdown. I messaged dave and he said he wasn't even in the lobby at that point! So I was getting phantom matches.

    Am I correct in that if I see the table and match type, that the other person was in control of the choosing? Because I had times where it only told me I had a match but no other info, and when the game started it was indeed using the settings I'd chosen. This is a source for confusion. It should show for both players what the table and match are.

    Another confusing issue is this...when it does show the match and table, am I supposed to push the 'okay' button? Because I do that, and then it'll give me a 'searching for match' text, followed by (sometimes) the countdown. For those few seconds though, I think I've lost the matchup. Even if the text box said 'syncing players' or something, at least then I'd know for sure we're still connected. Right now there just seems to be a lot of assumption as to what is happening, and if it weren't for the Steam messaging going on, I'd be banging my head on the wall wondering what was going on.

    Oh, last thing. We had a 5 minute match going, but there is no timer at all. We need that timer.
    I'm just sayin'

    official BlahCade Podcast website blahcadepinball.com

    buy BlahCade t-shirt at represent.com/blahcade-shirt

    play with me on PSN, iOS, and Steam: shutyertrap

    follow me on Twitter: @shutyertraps or @BlahCade

  21. #21
    Senior Member dave950lam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    628
    My Devices
    xbox360, PC
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Still having problems getting matches started. The room says 1 player in the queue, but it doesn't match us up to play.

  22.   Click here to go to the next FarSight post in this thread.   #22
    FarSight Employee
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    99
    My Devices
    Galaxy tab, pc, ps3, xbox360, ipad 1 2 and 3
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by shutyertrap View Post
    Thanks Stephen!

    The two biggest issues with matchmaking are always 1) how long I need to wait for a match to start, and 2) what happens when the other person finishes/quits early. I do hope you plan on making there be a way to play multiple matches against a player rather than always making us search anew once a game has ended. I say that not only to cut down on the frustration of matching each time, but because often people wanna have another crack at someone, especially if the outcome was close.
    That is definitely a feature I intend to add, as well as playing with friends. I'm going to work on hammering out bugs first, before adding anything new though. Basically right now, as far as how long you should have to wait, once a match has been found the countdown should start within around 5 seconds or less depending on server traffic.

    I'm working on getting a build with fixes for some of the issues here to our internal QA team today, and if testing goes well I'm hoping to get it out to you guys today or tomorrow.

    Thanks for the input!

  23.   Click here to go to the next FarSight post in this thread.   #23
    FarSight Employee
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    99
    My Devices
    Galaxy tab, pc, ps3, xbox360, ipad 1 2 and 3
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dave950lam View Post
    Just had a game with Shutyertrap, but when the game 'ended', MM's music kept playing and when I got to the menu the TPA music kicked in, so now I had 2 songs going at the same time, and couldn't get into a match again.
    This is a known bug, and we'll be testing what I hope is a fix internally today... right now to play a second match you have to exit the entire game and then search again, hopefully internal testing shows it working and we can get the patch out to you guys today, if not, tomorrow shouldn't be a problem.

  24.   Click here to go to the next FarSight post in this thread.   #24
    FarSight Employee
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    99
    My Devices
    Galaxy tab, pc, ps3, xbox360, ipad 1 2 and 3
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by shutyertrap View Post
    So yeah. Me and dave950lam had our Steam messager going on so that we could know exactly what was going on. We had a few times where it'd say it found the match, but then it never would start the game. I had it even happen where it found me a match with dave, told me the table, but then no countdown. I messaged dave and he said he wasn't even in the lobby at that point! So I was getting phantom matches.

    Am I correct in that if I see the table and match type, that the other person was in control of the choosing? Because I had times where it only told me I had a match but no other info, and when the game started it was indeed using the settings I'd chosen. This is a source for confusion. It should show for both players what the table and match are.

    Another confusing issue is this...when it does show the match and table, am I supposed to push the 'okay' button? Because I do that, and then it'll give me a 'searching for match' text, followed by (sometimes) the countdown. For those few seconds though, I think I've lost the matchup. Even if the text box said 'syncing players' or something, at least then I'd know for sure we're still connected. Right now there just seems to be a lot of assumption as to what is happening, and if it weren't for the Steam messaging going on, I'd be banging my head on the wall wondering what was going on.

    Oh, last thing. We had a 5 minute match going, but there is no timer at all. We need that timer.
    Yes, you are correct about the matching system, we'll work on updating the text to make it more clear, that flashing "searching for match" bug should be fixed in the next patch too, I noticed that myself and will see what I can do to both get rid of it and make it clear that the countdown is about to begin. Thanks for the input.

  25. #25
    Senior Member switch3flip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    811
    My Devices
    Samsung s5 (android), PS3, PC
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I would love the option to play 1-ball games if it is possible. Would make for great quick vs. games on some tables.
    Most Wanted: 1. Spider-Man 2. LOTR 3. Shadow
    Twitch stream: www.twitch.tv/switch3TV

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •