Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 36

  Click here to go to the first FarSight post in this thread.   Thread: Most annoying bugs (still) in TPA

  1. #1
    Senior Member 9u1d0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    276
    My Devices
    iPad Air, PS4
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Most annoying bugs (still) in TPA

    Hi, i was wondering why some real annoying bugs still are not solved. The first two I can come up with, on IOS are:

    1) Game goes, and stays, in plunge-cam mode during multiball.
    This happens on several machines, and only thing that happens is the plunger moving when touching for the right flipper. In most cases this will last during the entire multiball.
    I know this happens on Circus Voltaire, have seen it in latest tournament on Scared Stiff. But several other machines have this too. i have seen this on Star Trek TNG, but did not play this recently, guess it is still there.

    2) Ball counter is incorrect.
    It happens from time to time, on multiple machines, that TPA does not know the total number of balls in play during multiball. Sometimes it thinks there was only one ball in play, while there were more. This results in a ball drain, subtracting one ball from your leftovers and and launching the next.
    Sometimes it is the other way around it thinks there is still a ball in play, but there is none.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    448
    My Devices
    steam
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Whitewater: Red LEDs drawn over ball when player "rides the whirlpool." I'm thinking they should be underneath (?)

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    649
    My Devices
    Android/PS3/PS4/PSVita
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In Haunted House, when the ball goes down to the lower playfield, a dark shadow spot follows it on the upper playfield.

  4. #4
    Senior Pigeon Kolchak357's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Kutztown, PA
    Posts
    6,460
    My Devices
    iPad 4
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm just going to say Black Knight. Not any one bug, just Black Knight.

  5. #5
    Senior Member EldarOfSuburbia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    3,307
    My Devices
    PC, Android, WiiU
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Firepower infinite bonus bug.

    "You've got an arm like a wet rag!" - The Dummy, Hurricane (Williams, 1991)
    "Ace of Clubs?!" - Bride of Pin*Bot, Jack*Bot (Williams, 1995)
    "You have been terminated. Have a nice day!" - Candy 2000, Safe Cracker (Williams, 1996)

    Wizard Goals remaining: Safe Cracker 26 [Unique] Tokens (19/26 collected); F-14 250K Launch Bonus; Frankie 150M Creature Jackpot, Complete CREATURE

  6. #6
    Moderator Xanija's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    979
    My Devices
    Galaxy Tab S2 9.7, PC
    Blog Entries
    2
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Logan View Post
    Whitewater: Red LEDs drawn over ball when player "rides the whirlpool." I'm thinking they should be underneath (?)
    Quote Originally Posted by HotHamBoy View Post
    In Haunted House, when the ball goes down to the lower playfield, a dark shadow spot follows it on the upper playfield.
    Really? Those are "most annoying bugs"? Seems like TPA has gone quite bug free lately.

  7. #7
    Senior Member 9u1d0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    276
    My Devices
    iPad Air, PS4
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    During mutiball sometimes multiple balls get stuck in the plunger lane. Call attendant does not work. Just made it for the first time to Super Suprise multiball on High Roller casino, balls got stuck. Only tilting helped here. Very annoying. Ruined my highscore





    This does also happens sometimes on other multiball modes. Also have seen this happening on other machines.
    Last edited by 9u1d0; 12-12-2016 at 10:47 AM.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    144
    My Devices
    PS3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Some pinball tables, like AFM have glitches where a ball can magically go through a surface. I had a pinball on the bumpers and then slide into UFO area and scored a Dirty Pool. I'd say that was a dirty dirty pool.

    With regards to the above, I've never had that happen to me in multi-ball (PS3).

    I think in Hurricane I had a bonus ball for some reason plop into the plunger and I was playing with two balls... (seriously? grow up! ), but the table only recognized one ball, so when the first one drained, I was done and had to wait for the next ball.
    Last edited by yespage; 12-12-2016 at 12:32 PM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Miami, Florida, United States
    Posts
    520
    My Devices
    Kindle Fire
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bone busters, all of it.

  10. #10
    Senior Member MIK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    106
    My Devices
    XBOX360, PS4, AMIGA
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Star Trek TNG

    The Final Frontier mission can sometimes be locked in plunger cam until a certain number of balls have been lost from it's multi-ball round.
    To Be This Good Takes Pinballs!

  11. #11
    Senior Member Kratos3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    2,347
    My Devices
    PS Vita, PS3, iPad 3, iPhone 5s
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You must be new here.



  12. #12
    Senior Member Fungi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    4,657
    My Devices
    iTouch,New New iPad, iPad Air, Steam
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kratos3 View Post
    You must be new here.
    Sure, but due to the thread title, he ain't wrong.

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    6
    My Devices
    PC
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wizard goals that don't register. If you're going to have goals, then how hard is it to make sure they register? I'm done buying tables until they fix it, which means I'm probably done buying tables forever.

  14. #14
    Senior Member wizard33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    132
    My Devices
    Mac OS X
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by yespage View Post
    Some pinball tables, like AFM have glitches where a ball can magically go through a surface
    This happens in CV too (Mac version)
    and now … I can nudge.

  15. #15
    Senior Member EnergyOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    148
    My Devices
    2
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Fullscreen 1080p requires you to hit alt+enter twice, years after they were made aware of it.

  16. #16
    Senior Member EldarOfSuburbia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    3,307
    My Devices
    PC, Android, WiiU
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by EnergyOne View Post
    Fullscreen 1080p requires you to hit alt+enter twice, years after they were made aware of it.
    Not everyone has this problem, which is probably why it is proving so difficult to pin down. If nobody at Farsight can reproduce the issue with the hardware they have available, it's not going to be easy to fix.
    "You've got an arm like a wet rag!" - The Dummy, Hurricane (Williams, 1991)
    "Ace of Clubs?!" - Bride of Pin*Bot, Jack*Bot (Williams, 1995)
    "You have been terminated. Have a nice day!" - Candy 2000, Safe Cracker (Williams, 1996)

    Wizard Goals remaining: Safe Cracker 26 [Unique] Tokens (19/26 collected); F-14 250K Launch Bonus; Frankie 150M Creature Jackpot, Complete CREATURE

  17. #17
    Member Lostboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    96
    My Devices
    iPhone 6, PC, Xbox 360
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The multi-touch issue on iOS. Not being able to flip flippers makes the game a lot harder to play. Known for years. A fix is said to be "Not looking good" (a year and a half ago). And the same bug is in the Stern Pinball Arcade.

  18. #18
    Senior Member EnergyOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    148
    My Devices
    2
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by EldarOfSuburbia View Post
    Not everyone has this problem, which is probably why it is proving so difficult to pin down. If nobody at Farsight can reproduce the issue with the hardware they have available, it's not going to be easy to fix.
    It's not that at all - according to what I've been told, it's simply due to outstanding workload.

  19.   This is the last FarSight post in this thread.   #19
    FarSight Employee Brandon Garvin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Big Bear City
    Posts
    92
    My Devices
    PC, Android
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by EnergyOne View Post
    Fullscreen 1080p requires you to hit alt+enter twice, years after they were made aware of it.
    The next update should have some changes that will help with this issue. Hopefully the update will resolve it for some (preferably all) of you.

  20. #20
    Junior Member Psy-Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    7
    My Devices
    PC, Android
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Flippers cut off on a lot of tables when running portrait in e.g. a 10:16 resolution like 1200x1920 in DX11 mode. DX9 is fine. 9:16 is fine.

  21. #21
    Senior Member EnergyOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    148
    My Devices
    2
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Brandon Garvin View Post
    The next update should have some changes that will help with this issue. Hopefully the update will resolve it for some (preferably all) of you.
    Hi Brandon.

    I just built a new PC last week. I redownloaded the game in its entirety today. Specs:

    Intel i7 7700k
    16 GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz 16-16-16-36
    Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1080 G1 Gaming Edition
    Asus ROG Maximus IX Hero z270 Motherboard
    Sound Blaster Z PCIe Sound Card
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo Fan/Heatsink
    Cooler Master HAF 912 Case - front USB 3.0 port edition
    Corsair RM750x 750 watt Gold Cert PSU
    500 GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD
    250 GB Samsung 830 EVO SSD
    WD Black 5 TB 128MB Cache 7200 RPM HD
    Seagate 2 TB 64MB Cache 7200 RPM HD ST2000DM001
    WD 2 TB External USB 3.0 My Passport Ultra HD
    WD 1 TB External USB 3.0 My Passport HD
    LG WH16NS40 16x Super Multi Blu-ray Disc Writer
    Hootoo 9 port USB 3.0 Hub
    ViewSonic XG2701 144Hz 1ms 27" Monitor 1080p
    Asus VN279Q 27" Monitor 1080p
    Logitech G900 Mouse
    Corsair K70 LUX Cherry MX Blue Keyboard

    Here is my DX11 settings for Pinball Arcade.

    Here is the results of those settings when I launch right now.

    If I alt+enter, it makes it a blurry fullscreen, and it tosses my browser from one monitor to another. If I alt+enter again, it switches back to the screenshot above. If I alt+enter a third time it gives me a proper DX11 fullscreen that isn't so blurry.

    PM me if you need me to do any testing or logging or anything.
    Last edited by EnergyOne; 01-17-2017 at 12:35 PM.

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    GL
    Posts
    215
    My Devices
    p6800
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    EnergyOne, you should go higher. Set the buffers double your native res. 3,840 x 2160. See how it looks/works.

  23. #23
    Senior Member EnergyOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    148
    My Devices
    2
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by p6800 View Post
    EnergyOne, you should go higher. Set the buffers double your native res. 3,840 x 2160. See how it looks/works.
    Still starts out in that window, but after today's patch, I only have to hit alt+enter once. It seems to ignore if I set it to Window or Fullscreen in the configuration settings.

    Using your suggestion didn't seem to do anything - the behavior was the same.

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    GL
    Posts
    215
    My Devices
    p6800
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think we can live with this alt+enter thing. We've done it for years.

    How is 3840x2160 looking compared to 1920x1080? Can you notice the sharper textures?

  25. #25
    Senior Member EldarOfSuburbia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    3,307
    My Devices
    PC, Android, WiiU
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by EldarOfSuburbia View Post
    Firepower infinite bonus bug.

    It looks like this was fixed in the latest patch!
    "You've got an arm like a wet rag!" - The Dummy, Hurricane (Williams, 1991)
    "Ace of Clubs?!" - Bride of Pin*Bot, Jack*Bot (Williams, 1995)
    "You have been terminated. Have a nice day!" - Candy 2000, Safe Cracker (Williams, 1996)

    Wizard Goals remaining: Safe Cracker 26 [Unique] Tokens (19/26 collected); F-14 250K Launch Bonus; Frankie 150M Creature Jackpot, Complete CREATURE

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •