Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 64

  Click here to go to the first FarSight post in this thread.   Thread: Ghostbuster now on iOS. Report problems here.

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    711
    My Devices
    Android/PS3/PS4/PSVita
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Ghostbuster now on iOS. Report problems here.

    First thing I noticed is that the audio quality on iOS is awful with noticeable compression and warbling.

    Second thing I noticed is that you can't choose your skillshot because the game doesn't let you use the flippers before you plunge. Any input registers as the plunger pre-plunge. That's a huge part of the game right there.

    Fixes will come soon for the latter, I'm sure. The audio will probably always sound terrible.

    In the meantime, enjoy the game for free. Once again, there is no score limit on the free trial.

  2. #2
    Senior Pigeon Kolchak357's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Kutztown, PA
    Posts
    6,702
    My Devices
    iPad 4, iPad Air 2
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I hit a scoring limit when I got into hysteria multiball. But it was well above the fifth place score. So not sure what score triggered it.

    Art - I hope they take another pass on that steep left ramp. It looks monotone and flat. Not very realistic. Needs some shading to give it depth.
    Last edited by Kolchak357; 10-27-2017 at 11:10 AM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    711
    My Devices
    Android/PS3/PS4/PSVita
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think the game looks pretty bad but I'm used to playing the real thing.

    The hologram looks like crap.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    476
    My Devices
    steam
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Great models, beautiful playfield, and...zero effort made to simulate ambient lighting. Flashers transfer light to absolutely nothing on table. Sterile looking. Hard to see the ball. Even harder to read the DMD. No skill shot selection as mentioned.

    Always hoping for ball physics upgrade at some point. I’ll buy tables then.

    Glad to play a bit for free. Thanks, FS.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    796
    My Devices
    iOS, PSN
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A couple of bugs - going to be one of my favorite tables when they are ironed out
    1. Table not listed in table menu screen
    2. Lit shots are not lighting. Default skill shot is right loop it is start scene or if a scene is active then 10% of score. If you hit the shot you receive the award. I am wondering if you can change the skill shot at the beginning you just can't see it?
    On modes the shots you need to complete are not lit (tested on who brought the dog and spook central.

    Played the free version while waiting for cross buy - first time I saw an ad in TPA.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Poca West Virginia
    Posts
    58
    My Devices
    iOS
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Would it hurt them to put in a right flipper button just for the skill shot?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7
    My Devices
    iOS, Steam
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Works fine on iOS 11.0.3 iPhone SE . Crashes on iOS 9.3.5 iPad 3 (I know its old hardware, but runs all other TPA tables fine).

  8. #8
    Senior Member EldarOfSuburbia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    3,443
    My Devices
    PC, Android, WiiU
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by psyentist View Post
    Works fine on iOS 11.0.3 iPhone SE . Crashes on iOS 9.3.5 iPad 3 (I know its old hardware, but runs all other TPA tables fine).
    On the Twitch stream, they mentioned that GB won't run on devices with <1Gb RAM.
    "You've got an arm like a wet rag!" - The Dummy, Hurricane (Williams, 1991)
    "Ace of Clubs?!" - Bride of Pin*Bot, Jack*Bot (Williams, 1995)
    "You have been terminated. Have a nice day!" - Candy 2000, Safe Cracker (Williams, 1996)

    Wizard Goals remaining: Safe Cracker 26 [Unique] Tokens (19/26 collected); F-14 250K Launch Bonus; Frankie 150M Creature Jackpot, Complete CREATURE

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7
    My Devices
    iOS, Steam
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by EldarOfSuburbia View Post
    On the Twitch stream, they mentioned that GB won't run on devices with <1Gb RAM.
    Thanks Eldar. Guess the newsletter will have that info too.



  10. #10
    Senior Member Spork98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    315
    My Devices
    i7 GTX 960M, Shield Tablet + other 'droids you aren't looking for
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Burdette25159 View Post
    Would it hurt them to put in a right flipper button just for the skill shot?
    Didn't iOS get the 3 plunge touch zone options like on Android?

    Select a game to get to the start screen, press the gear to get to options, go controls> Plunger touch screen. Type B will have a separate section for the plunger and the flipper.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    796
    My Devices
    iOS, PSN
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Spork98765 View Post
    Didn't iOS get the 3 plunge touch zone options like on Android?

    Select a game to get to the start screen, press the gear to get to options, go controls> Plunger touch screen. Type B will have a separate section for the plunger and the flipper.
    iOS does have touch schemes A-F - there is an option to display touch zones but it is disabled or broken (cannot change the other options vibration or invert nudge either) - but I can cycle through the touch schedule and test (A-F) and they don't work. you can change the skill shot a second (probably milliseconds) before the ball loads in the trough (but its hard to tell due to the skill shot lights not lit but is displayed in the dmd). as soon as the ball is in the trough the flippers are disabled until the ball is launched and the skill shot choices are locked in.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Madrid & Segovia (Spain)
    Posts
    10
    My Devices
    iPad 3, iPone 4S & XBOX360
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Crash on IPad 3


    Enviado desde mi iPhone utilizando Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Senior Member karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    1,801
    My Devices
    Ipad Air 2, xbox 1S, PC, Iphone 6S, Virtuapin cab, PS4 pro
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Crashes on my iPad Pro 12,9. This years model. Not Even able to start the table

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    711
    My Devices
    Android/PS3/PS4/PSVita
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So if Faraight was right about SPA having a reaaon for cutting off oldee device support but they released Ghostbusters on TPA for platforms that couldn't run it, with no warning, that is absolutely unacceptable.

    I'm really starting to think the decision to do this was unplanned and something happened that prevented them from getting a different TPA table finished in time for October.

    Quote Originally Posted by DA5ID View Post
    A couple of bugs - going to be one of my ]favorite tables when they are ironed out
    1. Table not listed in table menu screen
    2. Lit shots are not lighting. Default skill shot is right loop it is start scene or if a scene is active then 10% of score. If you hit the shot you receive the award. I am wondering if you can change the skill shot at the beginning you just can't see it?
    On modes the shots you need to complete are not lit (tested on who brought the dog and spook central.

    Played the free version while waiting for cross buy - first time I saw an ad in TPA.
    Quote Originally Posted by Burdette25159 View Post
    Would it hurt them to put in a right flipper button just for the skill shot?
    Have you guys never played the real thing?

    So the way the game works is you can choose 2 skillshots before you plunge. I think there's 7 or 8 in all and each one gives a different reward. The right flipper lets you choose which roll-over lane to light and the left flipper lets you choose which playfield shot to light.

    As soon as the the ball hits a switch that ends the skillshot. If the switch was one of the two lit shots you will be rewarded what you chose plus 10% of your current score.

    What's important is that skillshots include things like "Light PKE frenzy, Start Scene (mode), +3M to Super Jackpot value, Advance Playfield multipliers. Start Video mode, etc.

    So as you can see, being able to choose your skillshot has a huge impact on how you approach the game.
    Last edited by HotHamBoy; 10-27-2017 at 08:54 AM.

  15. #15
    Senior Member Spork98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    315
    My Devices
    i7 GTX 960M, Shield Tablet + other 'droids you aren't looking for
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DA5ID View Post
    iOS does have touch schemes A-F - there is an option to display touch zones but it is disabled or broken (cannot change the other options vibration or invert nudge either) - but I can cycle through the touch schedule and test (A-F) and they don't work. you can change the skill shot a second (probably milliseconds) before the ball loads in the trough (but its hard to tell due to the skill shot lights not lit but is displayed in the dmd). as soon as the ball is in the trough the flippers are disabled until the ball is launched and the skill shot choices are locked in.
    So you don't see this in your options?

  16. #16
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    4
    My Devices
    iOS
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The dot matrix display is way too dark. I have no problem with the DMD on the other Pinball Arcade tables, but Ghostbusters is impossible to see. All tables on the Stern PBA have the same DMD bug too.

  17.   This is the last FarSight post in this thread.   #17
    FarSight Employee Brandon Garvin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Big Bear City
    Posts
    113
    My Devices
    PC, Android
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by psyentist View Post
    Works fine on iOS 11.0.3 iPhone SE . Crashes on iOS 9.3.5 iPad 3 (I know its old hardware, but runs all other TPA tables fine).
    Quote Originally Posted by Geooorge View Post
    Crash on IPad 3


    Enviado desde mi iPhone utilizando Tapatalk
    When does the game crash for you guys? Is it right as you enter the Ghost Busters table or is it when you try to open the app? We don't have an iPad 3, but it looks like it should be able to run the game fine based on the specs.


    Quote Originally Posted by karl View Post
    Crashes on my iPad Pro 12,9. This years model. Not Even able to start the table
    So far we can't reproduce this on our iPad Pro 10.5 (2017) or iPad Pro 12.9 (2015), when is it crashing for you?

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7
    My Devices
    iOS, Steam
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    App runs fine and can play other tables. Launch screen for Ghostbusters will load and the code certainly starts to load (based on the time it takes), but then crashes.



  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    796
    My Devices
    iOS, PSN
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Spork98765 View Post
    So you don't see this in your options?
    No controller mode or plunger touch scheme

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    711
    My Devices
    Android/PS3/PS4/PSVita
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DA5ID View Post
    A couple of bugs - going to be one of my favorite tables when they are ironed out
    1. Table not listed in table menu screen
    2. Lit shots are not lighting. Default skill shot is right loop it is start scene or if a scene is active then 10% of score. If you hit the shot you receive the award. I am wondering if you can change the skill shot at the beginning you just can't see it?
    On modes the shots you need to complete are not lit (tested on who brought the dog and spook central.

    Played the free version while waiting for cross buy - first time I saw an ad in TPA.
    Oh, I forgot to mention in my previous post that the big arrows that light the shots you need to make (like when in a mode or for skills shots) are not working at all. They don't light up so, for example, when you start "Who Brought the Dog?" you don't know what shots you are supposed to hit.

    This is a monumental screw up. 10 months and they still couldn't launch a working table!
    I am wondering if you can change the skill shot at the beginning you just can't see it?
    It would change on the DMD.

    10 months and the people who already paid for it in SPA on mobile & Steam are *still* waiting for it.
    Last edited by HotHamBoy; 10-27-2017 at 02:50 PM.

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    284
    My Devices
    Ipad,iPhone and desktop
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by benroimola View Post
    The dot matrix display is way too dark. I have no problem with the DMD on the other Pinball Arcade tables, but Ghostbusters is impossible to see. All tables on the Stern PBA have the same DMD bug too.
    I’m 65 yrs old and have no problem reading DMDs on my iPad Air2 but ghostbusters DMD is so dark I can’t see ****. I even turned the brightness up in iPad settings but still no better.

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    San Jose, California, United States
    Posts
    143
    My Devices
    Android, iOS, Mac
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by benroimola View Post
    The dot matrix display is way too dark. I have no problem with the DMD on the other Pinball Arcade tables, but Ghostbusters is impossible to see. All tables on the Stern PBA have the same DMD bug too.
    Agreed. It is way too dim. I've tried now on iOS and Android and it's too dim on both.

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    292
    My Devices
    iPad Air 2, Samsung Galaxy S7, XBOX 360
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    DMD is very dark. Once again, sometimes I can’t close the ad that comes up after I post my score. There’s the overlay window that says it’s posting my score and the ads is underneath, but perhaps that Posting box is keeping the software from accepting taps over n the screen otherwise. This bug has been around a bit. iPad Air 2.
    Farsight ID: Strike3Count

  24. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    41
    My Devices
    iPad3, PS3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by HotHamBoy View Post
    Have you guys never played the real thing?

    So the way the game works is you can choose 2 skillshots before you plunge. I think there's 7 or 8 in all and each one gives a different reward. The right flipper lets you choose which roll-over lane to light and the left flipper lets you choose which playfield shot to light.

    As soon as the the ball hits a switch that ends the skillshot. If the switch was one of the two lit shots you will be rewarded what you chose plus 10% of your current score.

    What's important is that skillshots include things like "Light PKE frenzy, Start Scene (mode), +3M to Super Jackpot value, Advance Playfield multipliers. Start Video mode, etc.

    So as you can see, being able to choose your skillshot has a huge impact on how you approach the game.
    This isn’t quite right. The LEFT flipper selects the top roll over skill shot. The RIGHT flipper selects the super skill shot on the play field which is light blue. You can short lunge into the right loop or full plunge through the spinner to take a shot at the super skill shot. As long as you don’t hit one of the major shots that are used for the super skill shot, your selected one will remain lit.

  25. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    64
    My Devices
    iPad
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Glad it is finally here but very disappointed with no ability to choose skill shots... really? How could a game go out with on of the most fundamental part of any modern game. In addition you can’t read the DMD, way too dark. Also the sounds are poor in quality, no excuse for not have good modern digitized sounds like the real thing. Feels like a 9.99 Beta test in this respect but yes I am still playing and love the ability to have our games in digitized form. Hope their is an update soon to correct some of these fundamental issues.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •